HOW

This brings us to the last section of our merry overview: how the fuck am I going to do it.

Pick a direction, I know. Pedal, I know. But there are many questions still to ask. Mostly: what to bring, and what to ride.

I will be exploring each of these issues in detail, from the largest (Can I get away with using my road bike, or will I need to buy a touring rig?) to the smallest (how many pairs of bike shorts? what kind of tent? What kind of food best to buy from markets in the midwest? my Crank Brothers Multi19 bike tool, or upgrade to the indexing Pica+?). Since I will undoubtedly have to purchase some gear – clothing, camping, the like – I want to make sure I buy the right things. The lightest, but most durable. The cheapest, but not to fail me for at least 115 days if need be.

Here’s a rough packing list I’ve put together. I don’t doubt I’ll be writing a single post about each item here.

Items I own already are in bold – even if there’s doubt that what I own will be appropriate.

 

CLOTHING

helmet

gloves

cleat shoes

4 pair. bike socks

2 pair heavy wool socks

pair jeans

belt

pair PJ pants

4 bike shorts – own 2

3 jerseys (1 wool, 1 cotton, 1 synthetic) – look into various desirabilities of each

goretex socks

rain jacket

plastic rain pants

CAMPING EQUIPMENT

sleeping bag

camping pillow

tent

ground cover

sleeping pad

quick-dry towel

 

BIKE & TOOLS

bike

racks and/or panniers and/or ???

multitool

2 patch kits

2 spare tires

spare tubes

chain lube

rain cover for saddle

panniers (?)

water bottles + holders (?)

spare spokes (all 3 sizes) – really necessary?

cables (1 brake, 1 derailleur) – really enough?

spare brake pads

spare SPD cleats + cleat screws

spare set cleat

 

MISC

tablet

compass

whistle

strike-anywhere matches

wallet

cellular tellular

bike lock

duct tape

little leatherman

knife

flashlight

Adventure Cycling maps – see if can be circumvented digitally/bought used

sunglasses

glasses strap

bungee cord(s)

zip ties

various rubber bands

a few zip-loc bags

a few heavy-duty trash bags

bug spray

 

PERSONAL & EMERGENCY CARE

toothpaste

soap case

nail clippers

smalll first aid kit

deodorant

hand wipes

TP

toothbrush

floss

soap

aspirin analog

tylenol PM

tums

chammy cream

preparation H

 

FOOD

instant coffee

food bars (the greener the betrar)

nuts (salted): peanuts, edamame, pumpkin seeds, Others

fitness bread” or the like

I also have a CamelBak, which holds 110oz of water & has a comical amount of storage space. Which is necessary for me, since I can drink that much water in two hours – no water bottles, I expect, will satisfy.

 

…not counting food, water, or the bike itself, I expect that I shall be able to whittle this all down to about twenty pounds total weight. Perhaps less.

My bike weighs in at 16 pounds 12 ounces. With an Old Man Mountain rear rack, that’d bring it to about 19 pounds. It might be nice to try to bring the total weight (of items stored on the frame) at less than this.

 

Leave a Reply

