The Books

If I am to be on-the-move eight, ten hours a day – and undoubtedly sleeping a full eight hours a night – I might still find myself with six hours of day, every day.

I am bringing my tablet with it’s typin’ ttachment for the purposes of prosemaking. But still I shall want things to occupy my mind. Especially when I’m too damned tired to write.

To make sure I have good options available, I’ve compiled a bit of a book-list. And, realizing that I have a Kindle, can easily access them all.

Here’s my little cycling library:

ACHEBE, Chinua: Things Fall Apart

ANONYMOUS. The Book of One Thousand Nights and a Night.

BIERCE, Ambrose. Collected Works.

BOCCACCIO, Giovanni. The Decameron

BRICKHILL, Paul. The Great Escape

CERVANTES, Miguel. Don Quixote

CHEKHOV, Anton. Complete Short Stories

CLARKE, Arthur C. The Illustrated Man

CONRAD, Joseph. NostromoTales of Unrest

CROWLEY, John. Novelties & Souveniers

DOBLIN, Alfred. Berlin Alexanderplatz

DOSTOEVSKY, Fyodor. The PossessedThe Brothers KaramazovWhite Nights & Other Stories

F. Scott Fitzgerald. Tales of the Jazz AgeFlappers & Philosophers

GOETHE, J-Dubs. Wilhelm Meister’s Apprenticeship

GRIMM, The Brothers. Complete Fairy Tales.

HAWTHORNE. The House of Seven Gables.

JOYCE, James. Ulysses (again)

KIPLING, Rudyard. Just So Stories.

LANDA, Gertrude (ed.). Jewish Fairy Tales.

LESSIG, Lawrence. Free Culture.

LONDON, Jack. South Sea Tales.

MAUPASSANT, Guy de. Collected Short Stories.

MELVILLE, Herman. TypeeOmoo

PASCAL, Blaise. La Pensees.

PROUST, Marcel. Swann’s Way.

SABATINI, Rafael. Captain Blood.

SCHOPENHAUER. Essays.

STEVENSON, Robert Louis. New Arabian NightsTales from the South Seas

TWAIN, Mark. Life on the MississippiTom Sawyer; Huck Finn

YOURCENAR, Marguerite. Memoirs of Hadrian

& any book read before I go cycling will, indeed, be no hardship at all 🙂

EDIT: I had about a dozen of these books bolded as need-to-find. Then I found them all. The internet is pretty okay sometimes.

EDIT II: Read 2, and strafed 2, since starting this list. What rotted cheek!

EDIT III: 2 more down. I’m incorrigible.

One thought on “The Books

Leave a Reply

