GEAR SHIFTS

Over the course of a very cold winter, I acquired some new gear. Some of it is cycling gear without any other use. Some is stuff I bought for the gym or whatnot, which I am sure I shall get milage out of as I while the miles away.

Here’s a brief review of my cycling and touring equipage:

THE BIKE: Hanno, a 2011 CruX Expert Carbon

Everything is stock except:

the wheels (Velocity Dyads, 36-spoke)

the tires (All-Condition Armadillo Elites with kevlar bead)

the rack (Old Man Mountain Pioneer)

the brifters (2011 SRAM Apex were defective – broke after about 5000k. Replaced with 2014 Apex at no cost. IMPROVEMENT CITY)

Since my last tour, I’ve made some improvements to my setup.

-a small saddlebag (contains my multitool, tire tools, patch kits, chain lube)

-a triangle bag (left side: lock, pump, spare set of lights; right side: battery pack, leatherman, gorillapod)

-a camelbak (moccasins, jersey, sunglasses, FFGs, wallet, kindle, carbon binocs, bug spray, sunscreen… and 100cl water)

-I put my phone (which is also my camera) in an otterbox with a holster. I clip the holster to the chest strap of the camelbak. This lets me pull out my camera (and phone) (and gps) (and Magic Googling Machine) any time I want… then put it away whenever i want. Very enjoy. Much favorable.

-i don’t tour with cooking supplies. nuts, dried fruits, granola, interspersed with the occasional hot meal by the roadside.

As a result, my rear rack contains only:

-sleeping bag

-sleeping pad

-tent

-tent poles (strapped to outside, b/c long and pointy)

-spare spokes (in with the tent poles)

-spare tubes, cleats, brake pads, master links

-clothing

-quick-dry towel

-soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, floss

-bacitracin, bandage, few band-aids

-duct tape. because, duct tape.

…and even here, I’d say 25% of the Stuff is in the category of Luxury Items. I don’t need a kindle. I don’t need a mattress pad. I sure don’t need binoculars.

Hanno, with rack and All Dressed, weighs something like 19 pounds.

My full kit, minus food and water, weighs less than that.

#ultralight forever.

Leave a Reply

